FCA
Financial Conduct Authority (UK)
FCA consults on removing UK equity IPO connected-research delay and unconnected-analyst information-sharing rules
Published
Aug 4, 2026
Topics
UK equity IPOs, Investment research, Connected research, Unconnected analysts, COBS 11A, COBS 12, Primary markets, Prospectus and registration document timing
Executive Summary
The FCA has opened Consultation Paper CP26/14 on changes to information flows for UK equity IPOs. The proposals would remove key parts of the 2018 IPO research regime that were intended to encourage unconnected research but, according to FCA stakeholder feedback, have not delivered frequent or widely distributed independent IPO research. The FCA proposes to delete the mandatory 1-day or 7-day waiting period before connected research may be published after an approved registration document or prospectus, while retaining the requirement that such a document must be published before or at the same time as connected research. It also proposes to remove rules requiring syndicate banks to identify unconnected analysts, provide equal information, and keep related records. A technical correction is proposed to COBS 12.2.21R(1)(f) on review of draft investment research. The consultation affects issuers, investment banks, sponsors, advisers, brokers, research providers and IPO counsel. Responses are due by 29 May 2026; the effective date will be confirmed only if final rules are made.
What Changed
Previous
Connected research could be published one day after the relevant document where a joint briefing option was used, or otherwise seven days after publication.
New
Under the proposal, connected research could be published at the same time as the approved prospectus or registration document is made public.
Previous
Firms had to prevent connected analyst communications with the issuer unless unconnected analysts were given specified opportunities to receive equivalent information.
New
The mandatory equal information-sharing gateway would be removed; issuers and unconnected analysts could agree information access commercially.
Previous
COBS 11A required records of the unconnected analyst selection assessment, any restrictions, and information flows, retained for five years.
New
Those specific records would no longer be required under the proposed deleted provisions.
Previous
Publication of connected research was tied to prior publication of an approved prospectus or registration document plus a waiting period.
New
The approved document requirement would remain, but connected research could be published simultaneously with that document.
Previous
The current Handbook wording transferred from the MiFID Organisational Regulation may be interpreted more restrictively than the FCA intended.
New
The FCA proposes reverting to the original drafting with a minor punctuation change; it does not expect material practical impact for firms.
Business Impact
Who is affected
Directly affected
prospective UK regulated market equity IPO issuers, investment banks and other firms underwriting or placing IPO securities, sponsors, brokers, investment advisers, independent research providers, and IPO legal advisers.
Indirectly affected
institutional and retail investors in shares admitted to a UK regulated market, investor relations teams, compliance vendors, and deal-management platform providers supporting IPO execution workflows.
Jurisdictions
United Kingdom
Business processes
UK equity IPO timetable planning, Connected research publication approval, Analyst briefing and issuer interaction controls, Unconnected analyst access and information-sharing workflows, IPO legal and compliance record keeping, Investment research draft review under COBS 12
Estimated effort
Medium
Compliance risk
Medium
Affected Reports
| Field | Validation rule |
|---|---|
| Waiting period before connected research publication | COBS 11A.1.4FR |
| Approved prospectus or approved registration document publication trigger | COBS 11A.1.4FR and PRM 9.5 |
| Range of unconnected analysts and equal information-sharing requirement | COBS 11A.1.4BR to COBS 11A.1.4ER |
| Five-year records for unconnected analyst assessment, restrictions and information flows | COBS Schedule 1 record-keeping entries linked to COBS 11A.1.4BR, COBS 11A.1.4CR and COBS 11A.1.4ER |
| Review of draft investment research containing a recommendation or target price | COBS 12.2.21R(1)(f) |
Recommended Actions
- 1Confirmed actionStep 1 of 7
assess whether to submit feedback by 29 May 2026 on the proposed removal of the waiting period, equal-information rules and COBS 12 technical correction.
- 2Confirmed actionStep 2 of 7
map IPO execution procedures that currently assume a 7-day public-period delay and identify timetable, staffing and legal-review changes if final rules are made.
- 3Confirmed actionStep 3 of 7
keep existing COBS 11A controls in force until a final FCA policy statement and commencement date are published.
- 4Confirmed actionStep 4 of 7
prepare updated connected-research publication controls that gate dissemination to publication of an approved prospectus or registration document, rather than to a subsequent waiting period.
- 5Confirmed actionStep 5 of 7
review whether unconnected analyst engagement will continue contractually or under revised industry guidelines if mandatory FCA equal-information rules are removed.
- 6Confirmed actionStep 6 of 7
update record-retention matrices only after final rules confirm deletion of the five-year unconnected-analyst records.
- 7Confirmed actionStep 7 of 7
review COBS 12.2.21R(1)(f) investment-research draft review procedures to ensure they align with the final corrected wording once made.
Timeline
implementation
Jul 2018
FCA states that the IPO information-flow reforms, including unconnected-analyst rules, came into force in July 2018.
other
Jan 2026
FCA states that Prospectus Rules changes made in January 2026 introduced protected forward-looking statements for approved prospectuses.
publication
Apr 2026
FCA publishes Consultation Paper CP26/14, Changes to information flows for UK equity IPOs.
consultation deadline
May 29, 2026
Deadline for responses to CP26/14.
Sources
AI-generated analysis is based on the following primary sources. Always verify against the official publication.
- Consultation PaperFinancial Conduct AuthorityApr 2026CP26/14: Changes to information flows for UK equity IPOs ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/publication/consultation/cp26-14.pdf
- Consultation webpageFinancial Conduct AuthorityMay 12, 2026CP26/14: Changes to information flows for UK equity IPOs ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/publications/consultation-papers/cp26-14-changes-information-flows-uk-equity-ipos
- FCA HandbookFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedCOBS 11A.1 Underwriting and placing ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/COBS/11A/1.html
- FCA HandbookFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedCOBS 12.2 Investment research and non-independent research ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/COBS/12/2.html
- Policy StatementFinancial Conduct AuthorityOct 2017PS17/23: Reforming the availability of information in the UK equity IPO process ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/publication/policy/ps17-23.pdf
Related Evidence
Verified source support for this analysis
The evidence agent checks whether the drafted finding is supported by official publications and relevant public source material.
Receive updates like this by email
Get AI-generated analysis for the regulators and topics you care about.