FCA
Financial Conduct Authority (UK)
FCA Final Notice: Former SVS Securities CEO fined and prohibited over retail pension portfolio failings
Published
Aug 18, 2026
Effective
Aug 17, 2026
Topics
Enforcement, Senior management accountability, Discretionary fund management, Retail pensions, Conflicts of interest, Inducements, Product governance, Customer communications
Executive Summary
The FCA has issued a Final Notice against Demetrios Christos Hadjigeorgiou, former CF1 Director and CF3 Chief Executive of SVS Securities Plc, imposing a £56,400 penalty and a prohibition from performing any senior management function or significant influence function in relation to regulated activities. The FCA found that, between 3 January 2018 and 2 August 2019, he breached APER Statement of Principle 6 by failing to exercise due skill, care and diligence in managing SVS’s discretionary fund management business. The case concerns retail pension customers invested through SVS model portfolios into high-risk, illiquid fixed income products, with material failings in conflicts management, inducements, due diligence, concentration risk and disclosure of a 10% fixed income disinvestment mark-down. The notice does not create new rules or reporting templates, but it is a significant enforcement signal for wealth managers, discretionary fund managers, SIPP-linked investment businesses and senior managers responsible for product governance, customer outcomes and financial promotions or disclosure controls.
What Changed
Previous
The FCA’s Decision Notice dated 25 April 2024 recorded a proposed financial penalty of £84,600 and was subject to a Tribunal reference.
New
The FCA imposes a final financial penalty of £56,400 and a prohibition from senior management and significant influence functions.
Previous
The Decision Notice recorded a proposed £84,600 penalty.
New
The Final Notice imposes a £56,400 penalty, payable in 48 monthly instalments of £1,175 from 1 September 2026.
Previous
No final prohibition order had been imposed while the matter remained unresolved.
New
The FCA prohibits him from performing any senior management function and any significant influence function in relation to regulated activities carried on by authorised or exempt persons or exempt professional firms.
Previous
The 2024 Decision Notice findings were provisional because they had been referred to the Upper Tribunal.
New
The findings against Mr Hadjigeorgiou are final, although the notice records that related criticisms of David Stephen remain disputed and subject to his Tribunal reference.
Previous
Before November 2018, SVS did not charge customers when they disinvested from the model portfolios.
New
The FCA found that the mark-down generated £359,800 for SVS at the expense of disinvesting customers and was not properly communicated.
Business Impact
Who is affected
Directly affected
Demetrios Christos Hadjigeorgiou and any regulated firm assessing his fitness and propriety for senior management or significant influence roles.
Indirectly affected
UK discretionary fund managers, wealth managers, SIPP operators and trustees, firms using introducers or financial advisers to source retail pension customers, compliance teams, product governance committees and senior managers responsible for retail investment services.
Jurisdictions
United Kingdom
Business processes
Senior manager fitness and propriety assessment, Conflicts of interest identification, escalation and register maintenance, Retail investment product due diligence and target market assessment, Third-party commission, inducement and introducer payment approval, Discretionary portfolio concentration and liquidity monitoring, Customer disclosure of charges, spreads, mark-downs and disinvestment costs, Board and investment committee challenge and evidence retention
Estimated effort
Medium
Compliance risk
High
Affected Reports
| Field | Validation rule |
|---|
Recommended Actions
- 1AI generatedStep 1 of 7
Review discretionary portfolio governance for high-risk or illiquid assets, including whether investment committees evidence independent challenge before customer funds are committed.
- 2AI generatedStep 2 of 7
Test conflicts controls against the facts in the Final Notice, especially connected directors, related issuers, upfront payments, loans or commercial arrangements with product providers.
- 3AI generatedStep 3 of 7
Reconcile all third-party commissions, marketing fees and introducer payments against COBS inducement restrictions for retail investment services and document any permitted basis.
- 4AI generatedStep 4 of 7
Refresh product due diligence standards so that target market, liquidity, concentration, credit quality, underlying exposure and ongoing monitoring are assessed before investment decisions.
- 5AI generatedStep 5 of 7
Validate that customer communications clearly disclose all exit charges, spreads, mark-downs and disinvestment costs in writing before customers make disinvestment decisions.
- 6AI generatedStep 6 of 7
Require accountable senior managers to evidence challenge where commercial pressures, liquidity needs or revenue targets could compromise customer outcomes.
- 7AI generatedStep 7 of 7
Update fitness and propriety screening to identify FCA prohibition orders and Final Notices when hiring or approving senior managers.
Timeline
effective date
Jan 3, 2018
Relevant Period begins; the Final Notice states that COBS 2.3A.15R and PROD 3.3.1R/3.3.3R were in force from this date for the matters considered.
other
Nov 2018
SVS Board decided to introduce a 10% mark-down on fixed income asset valuations when customers disinvested from the model portfolios.
other
May 30, 2019
SVS made a written disclosure referring to a wider spread, but the FCA found it did not specify the 10% mark-down rate.
other
Aug 2, 2019
Relevant Period ends; FCA imposed further requirements on SVS requiring it to cease all regulated activities, safeguard assets and notify affected third parties.
other
Aug 5, 2019
SVS was placed into Special Administration.
publication
Apr 25, 2024
FCA Decision Notice recorded that the Authority had decided to impose a £84,600 penalty before the matter was resolved and the reference withdrawn.
publication
Aug 17, 2026
FCA Final Notice issued, imposing a £56,400 financial penalty and prohibition order.
implementation
Sep 1, 2026
First monthly penalty instalment of £1,175 due under the Final Notice payment schedule.
Sources
AI-generated analysis is based on the following primary sources. Always verify against the official publication.
- Final NoticeFinancial Conduct AuthorityAug 17, 2026Final Notice 2026: Demetrios Christos Hadjigeorgiou ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/publication/final-notices/demetrios-christos-hadjigeorgiou-2026.pdf
- Decision NoticeFinancial Conduct AuthorityApr 25, 2024Decision Notice 2024: Demetrios Christos Hadjigeorgiou ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/publication/decision-notices/demetrios-christos-hadjigeorgiou-2024.pdf
- Press releaseFinancial Conduct AuthorityJun 24, 2024FCA takes action against three individuals from SVS Securities for mistreatment of pension funds ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/news/press-releases/fca-takes-action-against-three-individuals-svs-securities-mistreatment-pension-funds
- Handbook rulesFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedFCA Handbook: Conduct of Business Sourcebook, COBS 2.3A and COBS 11.2A ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/COBS/
- Handbook rulesFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedFCA Handbook: Product Intervention and Product Governance Sourcebook, PROD 3 ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/PROD/3/
Related Evidence
Verified source support for this analysis
The evidence agent checks whether the drafted finding is supported by official publications and relevant public source material.
Receive updates like this by email
Get AI-generated analysis for the regulators and topics you care about.