FCA
Financial Conduct Authority (UK)
FCA fines and prohibits former Blue Horizon CEO Paul Taylor for dishonest proof-of-funds representations
Published
Jul 21, 2026
Effective
Aug 12, 2026
Topics
SMCR, Individual Conduct Rules, Fitness and propriety, Financial penalties, Prohibition orders, Controller notifications, Source of funds, Financial crime risk
Executive Summary
The FCA has issued a Final Notice against Paul Vincent Taylor, former Chief Executive and Executive Director of Blue Horizon Asset Management Ltd, imposing a £489,000 penalty and prohibiting him from performing any function in relation to regulated activities. The FCA found that, while approved as SMF1 and SMF3, Mr Taylor dishonestly made false and misleading statements during two commercial negotiations, including representations that he was the ultimate beneficial owner of a bond portfolio worth over €200 million. Some information and supporting documents were provided to the FCA and PRA in connection with proposed controller and source-of-funds assessments. The FCA concluded that the conduct breached Individual Conduct Rule 1, which requires integrity, and that Mr Taylor is not fit and proper. The notice does not create a new reporting rule, but it is a significant enforcement signal for firms: senior managers, transaction teams and compliance functions should ensure proof-of-funds, controller-change and regulatory-submission controls independently verify ownership, authority and documentary evidence before information reaches counterparties or regulators.
What Changed
Previous
No FCA penalty had been imposed on Mr Taylor in this matter before the Final Notice.
New
The FCA imposed a £489,000 penalty after a 30% Stage 1 settlement discount; without the discount the penalty would have been £698,600.
Previous
Mr Taylor had previously been approved to perform SMF1 and SMF3 at BHAM between 14 February 2022 and 17 January 2025.
New
The prohibition order takes effect from the date of the Final Notice, 12 August 2026.
Previous
As an approved Senior Manager, Mr Taylor was required to comply with COCON, including Individual Conduct Rule 1.
New
The FCA found a breach of Individual Conduct Rule 1 based on false and misleading proof-of-funds statements and falsified supporting documentation.
Previous
The acquisition process required information on proposed controllers and evidence of source of funds to be provided to the FCA and PRA.
New
The FCA found that Mr Taylor knew false proof-of-funds information had been communicated to the regulators and that falsified documents were sent to Firm A and then provided to the Authorities.
Previous
The Step 2 penalty figure based on relevant income was £232,875.43.
New
The FCA applied a multiplier of 3 at Step 4, producing £698,626.29 before the Stage 1 settlement discount.
Business Impact
Who is affected
Directly affected
FCA-authorised firms and approved Senior Managers involved in acquisitions, controller changes, fundraising, client asset or portfolio evidence, or regulatory submissions; individuals subject to SMCR.
Indirectly affected
compliance, legal, corporate development, transaction counterparties, advisers, clients whose assets may be referenced, and investors or lenders relying on proof-of-funds representations.
Jurisdictions
United Kingdom
Business processes
Senior Managers and Certification Regime governance, Fitness and propriety assessments, Controller-change and acquisition approval processes, Proof-of-funds and source-of-wealth verification, Regulatory correspondence and submission sign-off, Financial crime and fraud risk controls, Incident escalation and regulator notification
Estimated effort
Medium
Compliance risk
High
Affected Reports
| Field | Validation rule |
|---|---|
| Ultimate beneficial owner of assets used as proof of funds | The Final Notice found false representations that Mr Taylor was the UBO of the Bond Portfolio when Client A was the actual UBO. |
| Source of funds for proposed acquisition | Evidence submitted or intended for regulators must accurately support the stated acquisition funding source; the FCA found falsified documents were used to support false source-of-funds representations. |
| Cash or liquid assets available for acquisition funding | Statements that a firm or controller has cash or liquid assets available should be verified; the FCA found statements about available assets were false in both proposed acquisitions. |
| Proposed corporate and individual controller information | Controller notification information should align with verified ownership, funding and control arrangements; the notice describes inaccurate information being used in controller forms. |
| KYC, AML and nominee documentation supporting ownership claims | Supporting documents should be authentic and authorised; the FCA found a letter of good standing and nominee agreement falsely asserted that Client A held assets as nominee for Mr Taylor. |
Recommended Actions
- 1AI generatedStep 1 of 7
require independent compliance or legal verification of UBO, source-of-funds and asset ownership evidence before acquisition, controller-change or regulatory submissions are made.
- 2AI generatedStep 2 of 7
update SMCR conduct training for Senior Managers using this Final Notice as a case study on Individual Conduct Rule 1, dishonesty and regulatory candour.
- 3AI generatedStep 3 of 7
implement a transaction evidence register recording the origin, owner, signatory authority and verification status of all proof-of-funds documents.
- 4AI generatedStep 4 of 7
require dual sign-off for any regulatory submission or counterparty representation that relies on client assets, nominee arrangements or externally issued letters.
- 5AI generatedStep 5 of 7
test incident escalation procedures to ensure materially inaccurate information provided to regulators is promptly investigated, corrected and escalated under applicable notification obligations.
- 6AI generatedStep 6 of 7
include authenticity checks for signatures, document dates, non-corporate email use and backdated agreements in financial crime and fraud-risk controls.
- 7AI generatedStep 7 of 7
reassess fitness and propriety evidence for Senior Managers involved in significant transactions where integrity, regulatory candour or source-of-funds issues arise.
Timeline
other
Feb 14, 2022
Mr Taylor became approved by the FCA to perform SMF1 and SMF3 at Blue Horizon Asset Management Ltd.
other
Dec 6, 2023
Start of the Relevant Period identified by the FCA; BHAM provided proof-of-funds information to Firm A referring to the Bond Portfolio.
other
May 13, 2024
Firm A submitted an application to the PRA and FCA for authorisation to carry on banking business.
other
May 15, 2024
Firm A submitted corporate controller, individual controller and proposed non-executive director notification forms to the PRA and FCA.
other
Jul 22, 2024
Documents purporting to support Mr Taylor’s ownership of the Bond Portfolio were sent to Firm A.
other
Jul 26, 2024
Firm A sent documentation provided by Mr Taylor to the Authorities as source-of-funds evidence.
other
Jul 30, 2024
Firm A sent further documentation provided by Mr Taylor to the Authorities as source-of-funds evidence.
other
Oct 30, 2024
End of the Relevant Period; BHAM emailed the FCA stating its earlier response identifying Mr Taylor as UBO of the Bond Portfolio was incorrect.
other
Jan 17, 2025
Mr Taylor resigned as CEO from BHAM and Blue Group.
effective date
Aug 12, 2026
FCA Final Notice issued; prohibition order took effect from the date of the Notice.
implementation
Feb 8, 2027
Deadline for Mr Taylor to pay the financial penalty in full to the FCA.
other
Feb 9, 2027
If unpaid, the FCA may recover any outstanding penalty amount as a debt owed by Mr Taylor.
Sources
AI-generated analysis is based on the following primary sources. Always verify against the official publication.
- Final NoticeFinancial Conduct AuthorityAug 12, 2026Final Notice: Paul Vincent Taylor ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/publication/final-notices/paul-vincent-taylor-2026.pdf
- Handbook ruleFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedCOCON 2.1 Individual conduct rules ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/COCON/2/1.html
- Handbook guidanceFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedFIT 2.1 Honesty, integrity and reputation ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/FIT/2/1.html
- Handbook policy statementFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedDEPP 6.5B The five-step framework for penalties imposed on individuals in non-market abuse cases ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/DEPP/6/5B.html
- Handbook supervision rules and guidanceFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedSUP 15 Notifications to the FCA ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/SUP/15/
Related Evidence
Verified source support for this analysis
The evidence agent checks whether the drafted finding is supported by official publications and relevant public source material.
Receive updates like this by email
Get AI-generated analysis for the regulators and topics you care about.