FCA
Financial Conduct Authority (UK)
FCA PS26/3 confirms industry-wide motor finance consumer redress schemes
Published
Jul 2, 2026
Effective
Mar 31, 2026
Topics
Motor finance, Consumer redress, Commission disclosure, Consumer credit, Financial Ombudsman Service, FCA supervision, Consumer Duty
Executive Summary
The FCA has confirmed PS26/3, establishing two statutory motor finance consumer redress schemes under section 404 FSMA for disclosure failures relating to discretionary commission arrangements, high commission and tied arrangements. The schemes cover regulated motor finance agreements entered into from 6 April 2007 to 31 March 2014 and from 1 April 2014 to 1 November 2024. The FCA estimates 12.1 million agreements are eligible and expects firms to pay around £7.5bn in redress, with total expected industry costs of £9.1bn including non-redress costs. Lenders must use the FCA’s final liability and redress methodology, apply specified exclusions and exceptions, communicate outcomes within scheme deadlines, use fraud-mitigation controls, provide a standardised factsheet on first contact and report regularly to the FCA. Implementation deadlines differ by scheme period, with later-period agreements requiring readiness by 30 June 2026 and earlier-period agreements by 31 August 2026. Firms should treat this as a high-impact remediation, data, complaints and governance programme.
What Changed
Previous
CP25/27 consulted on a single scheme covering agreements from 6 April 2007 to 1 November 2024.
New
Scheme 1 covers agreements entered into from 6 April 2007 to 31 March 2014; Scheme 2 covers agreements entered into from 1 April 2014 to 1 November 2024.
Previous
The consultation proposed broader eligibility and a high commission threshold of 35% of total cost of credit and 10% of the loan.
New
High commission is at least 39% of total cost of credit and 10% of the loan; small commissions of £120 or less before 1 April 2014 and £150 or less from that date are treated as fair.
Previous
The consultation proposed an APR-17% loss adjustment for the hybrid remedy and average redress of around £695.
New
The final policy uses APR-21% for Scheme 1 and APR-17% for Scheme 2, a 3% annual interest floor and estimated average redress of about £830 per agreement.
Previous
The consultation approach would have required broader customer communications, including contact with more customers not owed redress.
New
Firms only need to contact consumers where the scheme requires it, reducing unnecessary communications; consumers not contacted can still complain by 31 August 2027.
Previous
Existing complaint handling and supervisory arrangements applied, with DCA and non-DCA complaint response deadlines paused separately.
New
Scheme cases move to the scheme timetable from 31 March 2026, and firms must operate FCA scheme reporting, oversight and communication controls.
Business Impact
Who is affected
Directly affected
FCA-regulated motor finance lenders and relevant purchasers of motor finance loan books responsible for administering scheme cases and paying redress.
Indirectly affected
motor finance brokers, dealers, professional representatives, insolvency practitioners, affected consumers, the Financial Ombudsman Service, investors and firms supporting remediation, tracing, calculation, communications and complaints operations.
Jurisdictions
United Kingdom
Business processes
Historic motor finance agreement identification and data remediation, Commission arrangement classification and disclosure assessment, Eligibility screening, exclusions, exceptions and rebuttal governance, Consumer tracing, communications and opt-in management, Redress calculation, interest calculation, capping and payment operations, Complaint handling transition from DISP pause to CONRED scheme process, Financial Ombudsman referral handling, FCA regular reporting, senior manager attestation and supervisory engagement, Fraud mitigation and secure customer communication controls
Estimated effort
High
Compliance risk
High
Affected Reports
| Field | Validation rule |
|---|---|
| Agreement start date | Determines whether the case falls in Scheme 1, Scheme 2 or outside the scheme: 6 April 2007-31 March 2014; 1 April 2014-1 November 2024. |
| Commission amount | Used to identify small commission exceptions, high commission, very high commission and redress calculations. |
| Total cost of credit | High commission is at least 39% of total cost of credit and 10% of the loan; Johnson-like remedy requires commission of at least 50% of total cost of credit and 22.5% of the loan. |
| Amount of credit or loan amount | Used for high commission and very high commission thresholds and high-value loan exclusions. |
| Relevant arrangement type | Firms must identify whether the agreement involved a discretionary commission arrangement, high commission arrangement, tied arrangement, or none. |
| APR adjustment | Hybrid remedy loss component uses APR-21% for agreements before 1 April 2014 and APR-17% for agreements from 1 April 2014. |
| Interest rate on redress | Simple interest is based on annual average Bank of England base rate plus 1%, with a 3% minimum for any year. |
| Unique reference number | Firms must consistently use a unique reference number in communications with individual consumers or their representatives. |
Recommended Actions
- 1Confirmed actionStep 1 of 7
map all regulated motor finance agreements from 6 April 2007 to 1 November 2024 to Scheme 1, Scheme 2 or out-of-scope status, including loan-book purchaser responsibility where relevant.
- 2Confirmed actionStep 2 of 7
build a defensible eligibility engine covering DCAs, high commission, tied arrangements, exceptions, exclusions, limitation decisions and FCA rebuttal criteria.
- 3AI generatedStep 3 of 7
perform an early legacy-data gap assessment for commission, APR, total cost of credit, loan amount, payment schedules, broker/dealer relationships and disclosure evidence.
- 4Confirmed actionStep 4 of 7
implement the final redress calculator, including APR-21% and APR-17% hybrid remedy adjustments, Johnson-like commission repayment, caps and the 3% annual interest floor.
- 5Confirmed actionStep 5 of 7
prepare consumer communication templates, standardised factsheet delivery, secure-channel controls, unique reference numbers and vulnerable-customer handling under Consumer Duty expectations.
- 6Confirmed actionStep 6 of 7
design FCA reporting, senior manager attestation and quality assurance controls before the relevant 30 June 2026 or 31 August 2026 implementation deadline.
- 7AI generatedStep 7 of 7
coordinate scheme operations with complaints, Financial Ombudsman, legal, insolvency, finance and fraud teams so that paused complaints and consumer challenges are routed correctly.
Timeline
other
Apr 6, 2007
Earliest agreement start date covered by Scheme 1 and the FCA’s stated start point for motor finance liabilities considered under the redress schemes.
other
Mar 31, 2014
Final agreement start date covered by Scheme 1.
other
Apr 1, 2014
First agreement start date covered by Scheme 2; also the date from which the higher £150 small-commission threshold and APR-17% hybrid remedy adjustment apply.
other
Nov 1, 2024
Final agreement start date covered by Scheme 2.
publication
Mar 2026
FCA published Policy Statement PS26/3 confirming the Motor Finance Consumer Redress Scheme final policy and made rules.
effective date
Mar 31, 2026
Paused complaints to which the scheme rules apply move to be dealt with under the scheme rather than DISP complaint-handling rules.
other
May 31, 2026
The existing pause ends for paused motor finance complaints to which the scheme rules do not apply.
implementation
Jun 30, 2026
Implementation period ends for agreements beginning from 1 April 2014.
implementation
Aug 31, 2026
Implementation period ends for agreements beginning before 1 April 2014.
other
Aug 31, 2027
Consumers who are not contacted can still complain to their firm by this date; for non-complainants invited to join Scheme 1, this is also the stated latest opt-in date.
Sources
AI-generated analysis is based on the following primary sources. Always verify against the official publication.
- Policy StatementFinancial Conduct AuthorityMar 2026Policy Statement PS26/3: Motor Finance Consumer Redress Scheme ↗
https://www.fca.org.uk/publication/policy/ps26-3.pdf
- Primary legislationUK LegislationDate not specifiedFinancial Services and Markets Act 2000, section 404: Consumer redress schemes ↗
https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2000/8/section/404
- Primary legislationUK LegislationDate not specifiedConsumer Credit Act 1974, section 140A: Unfair relationships between creditors and debtors ↗
https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1974/39/section/140A
- FCA HandbookFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedFCA Handbook: DISP App 5 Motor finance discretionary commission arrangement complaints ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/DISP/App/5/
- FCA HandbookFinancial Conduct AuthorityDate not specifiedFCA Handbook: CONRED Consumer redress schemes sourcebook ↗
https://www.handbook.fca.org.uk/handbook/CONRED/
Related Evidence
Verified source support for this analysis
The evidence agent checks whether the drafted finding is supported by official publications and relevant public source material.
Receive updates like this by email
Get AI-generated analysis for the regulators and topics you care about.